Weekend Championship results

The weekend started with the Minor Hurlers playing Davidsgate (Oylegate and Davidstown), which they lost on a scoreline of 2-19 to 2-09. Team was:

1. Sean Roche 2. John Donohoe 3. Sean McCabe 4. Patrick Walsh 5. Jonathon Squance 6. Tomas O Leary 7. Caman O Brien 8. Laurence Murphy 9. Padraig Flynn 10. Gary Ennett 11. Bryan Dwyer 12. Mark Gahan 13. Conor Doyle 14. James Gahan 15. Jamie O Brien


Our Intermediate team were playing the Shamrocks in Ferns on Saturday in the first round of the championship and came out the winners on a scoreline of 1-14 to 2-09. We started well and went four points to two ahead, but the Shamrocks replied with a goal. Points were exchanged until Stephen Murphy got a well taken goal close to half time to leave the half time score at 1-08 to 1-05. The second half started well with a point from Stephen Murphy, but the Shamrocks responded and looked to be heading for a win when they got their second goal, but with points from Matthew Dunne, Peter Mernagh and Niall  O Loughlin we managed to win by two points. Next up is Davidstown next Sunday in Farmleigh at 2pm.

Team was:

1. Sean Murphy 2. Liam Gahan (Ballyorley) 3. Tommy Breen 4. Paul Gahan 5. Dean Fenlon 6. Ger Daly 7. Niall O Reilly 8. Aidan Gahan 9. Mark Walsh 10. Niall O Loughlin 11. Matthew Dunne 12. Shane Kehoe 13. David Breen 14. Stephen Murphy 15. Bertie Gahan. Subs: Peter Mernagh for Aidan Gahan, James Sweeney for Shane Kehoe

Scores: Niall O Loughlin 0-06 frees, Stephen Murphy 1-01, Peter Mernagh 0-02, Matthew Dunne 0-01, Mark Walsh 0-01, Shane Kehoe 0-01, Bertie Gahan 0-01, David Breen 0-01.


The Junior team played on Monday against St Martins and they also won, on a scoreline of 1-16 to 1-10. Played in windy conditions we lead by 1-08 to 1-03 at half time thanks to some good scores by Mick Nolan and a goal by Patrick Walsh. The second half started well despite playing against a strong breeze but it was looking bad midway through the second half when St Martins got five points in a row to draw level but our lads showed great spirit, and with two points from Ed Rowsome and one from Damien and Laurence we pulled clear again and won by 6 points.

Team: 1. Morgan Gahan 2. Brendan Carton 3. Daire Turner 4. Sean Doran 5. Liam Gahan (Monageer) 6. Chris Daly 7. Denis Walsh 8. Mick Sweeney 9. Damien Fenlon 10. Mick Nolan 11. Colm O Loughlin 12. Ed Rowsome 13. Laurence Murphy 14. John O Loughlin 15. Patrick Walsh. Sub: James Gahan for John O Loughlin

Scores: Ed Rowsome 0-05 (0-03 frees), Patrick Walsh 1-01, Mick Nolan 0-03, Laurence Murphy 0-03, Damien Fenlon 0-02, John O Loughlin 0-01, Liam Gahan 0-01.