Hurling championship results 13/05/12

The Junior Hurlers played Tara Rocks on Friday night in the second round of the championship and lost by 2-15 to 3-08. We possibly could have got more from the game as we conceded two soft goals and missed some chances of our own, but to be fair Tara Rocks were the better team and deserved their victory.

Team was:

1. Morgan Gahan 2. Brendan Carton 3. Daire Turner 4. Sean Doran 5. Liam Gahan (Monageer) 6. Chris Daly 7. Denis Walsh 8. Mick Sweeney  9. Damien Fenlon  10. Ed Rowsome  11. Colm O Loughlin 12. Mick Nolan 13. Laurence Murphy 14. Ray O Brien 15. Patrick Walsh Subs: John Ivory for Denis Walsh

Scores: Ed Rowsome 0-04 (0-03 frees), Colm O Loughlin 1-01, Patrick Walsh 1-01, Laurence Murphy 1-01, Damien Fenlon 0-01.


The Intermediate hurlers played Davidstown in the second round of the championship and were comfortable winners by 2-16 to 0-11. The damage was done in the first half because we had a 6 point lead at half time, playing against a strong breeze, thanks to goals from Niall O Loughlin and David Breen. Despite winning by such a large margin we didn’t play particularly well but we now have two wins from two games and are top of our group.

Team was: 1. Sean Murphy   2. Liam Gahan (Ballyorley)  3. Tommy Breen  4. Paul Gahan  5. Dean Fenlon  6. Ger Daly  7. Niall O Reilly  8. Mark Walsh  9. Aidan Gahan  10. Niall O Loughlin   11. Matthew Dunne   12. Shane Kehoe  13. Bertie Gahan  14. Stephen Murphy  15. David Breen  Subs: Paddy Breen for Aidan Gahan, Peter Mernagh for Shane Kehoe, James Sweeney for Bertie Gahan


Scores:Niall O Loughlin 1-07, David Breen 1-01, Bertie Gahan 0-02, Matthew Dunne 0-02, Dean Fenlon 0-01, Mark Walsh 0-01, Stephen Murphy 0-01, Peter Mernagh 0-01